Overnight Oats

IMG_1225.JPG

Overnight oats would have to be my second favourite breakfast after peanut butter on toast! It’s so easy and prepared the night before so you can take it on the go and eat it in a hurry! The best part about overnight oats is you can make whatever flavour combination suits your tastebuds! There are endless flavours, fillings and toppings to make your overnight oats taste devine!

I like to top my overnight oats with  nuts and fresh fruit or peanut butter and banana or berries and coconut, honestly I would eat any flavour I think!

I recently had overnight oats for breakfast at a cafe in Puetro Vallarta, they topped it with banana, berries and almonds but it was what was hidden inside that made it one of the best overnight oats I have ever tasted! There was crips apple slices and a berry coulis in the centre! What a treat!

Here is my recipe for overnight oats which I like to add my own flavours too! And you can do the same thing! Spice it up with some cinnamon and nutmeg or make it creamier with coconut milk and mango purée! It’s honestly up to you, however you like it!

Overnight Oats:

  • 1 cup Oats
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 3/4 cup – 1 cup dairy free milk
  • 1 scoop vegan protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Place all ingredients in a mason jar and stir until combined. Place in fridge overnight. In the morning or before eating, stir well and add more milk if it is too thick!

Suggested flavour combinations:

  • peanut butter and banana
  • coconut and mango
  • mixed berry
  • blueberry and coconut
  • cinnamon and nutmeg
  • chocolate (add cacao powder)
  • raspberry and chocolate
  • lemon and almond
  • the list goes on

Apologies about the lack of food forecasts over the past few weeks!

That is your food forecast for the 8th November.

 

Leave a comment